Tuesday, 29 March 2011

Australia Immigration Points System (Revised from 01-07-2011)


It is proposed that a new points test for skilled migration visa applications will be introduced on 1 July 2011.  It complements the series of reforms the Australian Government announced in February 2010.
The new points test is focused on
selecting highly skilled people to deliver a more responsive and targeted migration program.  It was developed following a review of the current points test, which considered submissions from a variety of experts and the wider Australian community.
The new points test balances the different factors that are considered when determining whether someone will be granted a skilled migration visa.  It will deliver the best and brightest skilled
migrants by emphasising high level qualifications, better English language levels and extensive
skilled work experience.

The new points test will continue to award points for study in Australia, including regional study,
community languages, partner skills and completing an approved Professional Year. Points will no longer be awarded on the basis of an applicant’s occupation, but all applicants must still nominate an occupation on the applicable Skilled Occupation List.

It is important to note that the new points test will only apply to one component of the skilled
migration program.  This change won’t affect every type of skilled migration visa and only applies to the following visas.

•   Subclass 885 Skilled Independent               Subclass 886 Skilled Sponsored
•   Subclass 175 Skilled Independent               Subclass 487 Skilled Regional Sponsored
•   Subclass 176 Skilled Sponsored                 Subclass 475 Skilled - Regional Sponsored
It is proposed that the new points test will apply to applications made from 1 July 2011, unless the applicant is eligible for transitional arrangements.
Transitional arrangements apply to people who, on 8 February 2010 held or had applied for a
Temporary Skilled Graduate visa (subclass 485).  Until the end of 2012, this group is able to apply for a permanent skilled visa under the points test in effect as at 8 February 2010.

Student visa holders who lodge an application for points tested skilled migration from
1 July 2011 will be assessed under the new points test.  There are still transitional arrangements which may apply to those students affected by the reforms announced on 8 February 2010. People who held an eligible Student visa on 8 February 2010 still have until the end of 2012 to apply for a Temporary Skilled Graduate visa (subclass 485) under the arrangements in place for that visa as at 8 February 2010.

The pass mark is the number of points required to be eligible for skilled migration.  The pass mark is a tool that allows for management of the skilled migration program and is always subject to change.  It is expected that the pass mark will be set at 65 points.

New Points Test


25 points

30 points

25 points

15 points

0 points
English language
Competent English - IELTS 6
0 points

Proficient English - IELTS 7
10 points

Superior English - IELTS 8
20 points
Australian work experience in
One year Australian (of past two years)
5 points
nominated occupation or a closely
Three years Australian (of past five years)
10 points
related occupation
Five years Australian (of past seven years)
15 points
Overseas work experience in
Three years overseas (of past five years)
5 points
nominated occupation or a closely
Five years overseas (of past seven years)
10 points
related occupation
Eight years overseas (of past 10 years)
15 points
  Offshore recognised apprenticeship
10 points
(Australian or recognised overseas)
  AQFIII/IV completed in Australia

  Diploma completed in Australia

Bachelor degree
15 points

(including a Bachelor degree with Honours or


20 points
Recognition of Australian Study
Minimum two years fulltime (Australian study)
5 points

Designated language

5 points
Partner skills

5 points
Professional Year

5 points
Sponsorship by state or territory

5 points

Sponsorship by family or state or

10 points
territory government to regional


Study in a regional area

5 points

1 comment:

  1. Good info. Thanks for posting.
    you can find more information regarding the latest changes in australia skilled migration visa here http://www.gdayindia.com.au/australia-to-increase-skilled-migrant-visas